Those joining the Congress in not attending the meeting include NDA ally Shiv Sena as well as the Samajwadi Party, the Bahujan Samaj Party, the DMK, the Telugu Desam Party and the Trinamool Congress. The Left parties, represented by CPM general secretary Sitaram Yechury and CPI’s D Raja, attended the meeting but are opposed to the idea.